Tags

, , , ,

I absolutely love experimenting with cooking and baking.  It’s another way of expressing ones self in my eyes.  As always I use my boyfriend as an excuse to cook/bake.  Any night of the week he comes to see me I get to “play”!  Being as its fall and the weather is still being fickle about what temperature it wants to be, soup always comes to mind on those chilly nights.   So Friday night I decided to put some extra shrimp I had after making a seafood lasagna a few weeks ago, to use.  They were frozen so no worries!  I love seafood, well…crab, shrimp and fish.  Not the other things like oysters, clams or mussels!   Ugh, makes me gag!  Anyway,  I cooked up a batch of shrimp chowder that made my honey tell me afterward, “You have GOT to make that again!.”  He has always loved everything else I cooked/bake, but this one earns a high rating. 😉

I must admit it was quite tasty and I will definitely be cooking it again.  As always, I do change up recipes when cooking/baking something myself.  I think everyone does.  It’s how you create things to your taste.  I have provided the actual recipe below.   I found the following recipe through myrecipes.com .  I did add a little basil to mine along with the parsley.  Next time I’ll be adding some crab meat as well!  Yum!

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 (10 3/4-ounce) cans cream of potato soup, undiluted
  • 3 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds medium-size fresh shrimp, peeled*
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Monteray Jack cheese
  • Garnish: chopped fresh parsley
  • Oyster crackers (optional)

Preparation

  1. Melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat; add onion, and sauté 8 minutes or until tender. Stir in cream of potato soup, milk, and pepper; bring to a boil. Add shrimp; reduce heat, and simmer, stirring often, 5 minutes or just until shrimp turn pink. Stir in cheese until melted. Garnish, if desired. Serve immediately. Serve with oyster crackers, if desired.
  2. *1 1/2 pounds frozen shrimp, thawed; 1 1/2 pounds peeled crawfish tails; or 3 cups chopped cooked chicken may be substituted.

Cynthia J. Strickland, Bethel, North Carolina, Southern Living
JANUARY 2004

