When I was younger and still to this day I have always had a soft spot in my heart for vampires. They are mythological or folkloric beings who subsist by feeding on the life essence (generally in the form of blood) of living creatures, regardless of whether they are undead or a living person. Through the years people have changed the vampires habits, behaviors, appearance, etc. in so many ways I sometimes think they lose sight of what a vampire truly is. Perhaps I am just a harsh critic to the newer vampires. Although I do like The Twilight Saga, The Underworld Movies (love!), and various other vampire movies some of them stray from the original vampire. The method of being killed by a stake through the heart, holy water, sunlight, etc. has changed so much over the years. Contrary of what anyone wants to think and it might be a happy thought, but vampires do not shimmer in the sunlight they turn to ash and die. Moving on as this is just my personal opinion and in no way an attempt to offend anyone. As I said I do like these other movies, I personally just prefer the “original” vampire.

The classic Bram Stoker’s Dracula has always been a love of mine. I should say the movie has been a favorite of mine, only recently did I read the book. Surprisingly so, since I love books so much.

Naturally, as most books do it differed from the movie. I was disappointed in the differences between the two, however I still love both for what they are. The books summary was about Dracula’s attempt to relocate from Transylvania to England, and the battle between Dracula and a small group of men and women led by Professor Van Helsing.  The Movie is motivated more around romance than by bloodlust.  Which differs from the book.  Only in the movie does the Count puncture necks to avenge the death of his wife in the 15th century, and when he comes to London, it is specifically to meet heroine Mina Harker, the living image of his late wife.  Like the book, he is hunted by Van Helsing and other men after killing Lucy.

There is something about Count Dracula that makes me weak in the knees. (swoon) I’m sure the fact that Gary Oldman plays him doesn’t help! His voice let alone his looks when in “youthful form” is enough to make me melt. (Yes, I did just sigh.) He portrays the Count so well in appearance and form. So dark, brooding, yet romantic, and mysterious.

I love the outfits in the movie.  I had a replica of the red bustle gown created when I was in my early 20’s for a Halloween party.  I absolutely loved that dress!  You’re talking about someone that never wears dresses!  This was the first dress I ever wore!  I love the old styles.  I don’t fancy the dresses from my own time.  I could wear different styles from other era’s, how cool would that be?!

This brings me to Val Kuperman, someone I’d like to call a new friend. Though we haven’t met in person he is my favorite Captain Jack Sparrow impersonator.

Recently he decided to start a new adventure in portraying the Count! I can’t tell you how excited I am for this news! Not only because this is my favorite character, but because he is an amazing impersonator and will blow this away. I can’t wait to see the outcome. Until then I’m counting down the days until we meet at the renaissance faire.

